Remote administration thru administration console

Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:20 pm
Location: Candás, Asturias, ES

Remote administration thru administration console

Postby GLM » Tue Nov 19, 2002 10:19 am

Hi all,

Can remote servers be administered by means of the local Administration Console? (can't find a way to connect the AC
to a remote server).

Thank you in advance.

Gonzalo López Menéndez
Candás, Asturias, ES.

Site Admin
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 6:31 pm
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Postby Admin » Wed Nov 20, 2002 5:13 am

Not in the current versions. This is still under development (mostly done though), and will be available in the Enterprise edition.

Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 1:16 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

VNC is the key

Postby GuySmith75 » Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:38 pm


your best bet at the moment is to implement something like VNC which allows you to fully control machines over any IP based network including the internet. You can even control machines from a java enabled web browser!

Vnc is at:

Most of all its free!

I use it to manage all servers and clients because it is just so easy to use, and it gets round the problems that most things have with remote admin.


Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 6:17 pm
Location: Albany, NY (USA)


Postby lilkiller » Mon Nov 25, 2002 6:51 pm

Using a windows 2000 server with the Remote Management (Terminal services) works awesome. Just a suggestion if you already have one with a license :)
Security Administrator

............You just can't resist!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest